Who are we

Presentation

Capit Muscas Editions is a publishing house specializing in Asia and maritime areas. She wishes to contribute to an enriched knowledge of the world by the distribution of books and maps.

Why Asia and the maritime areas?

Asia

Everything east of the Aegean », Herodotus

This broad definition of Herodotus refers to the vastness of the Asian continent and its diversity. Asia is a plural space, marked by both sustained economic and demographic growth and less dynamic spaces. This fragmented continent concentrates development issues and faces political, security and environmental decisions at the heart of international geostrategic concerns. Asia has undoubtedly become the new center of gravity of the world. Its study constitutes an essential subject for our century.

Maritime spaces

" The tears of our sovereigns have the salty taste of the sea that they have ignored ”, Cardinal de Richelieu. 

The sea covers 71 % of the earth's surface. Privileged support for the circulation of goods, people, ideas but also for the projection of powers since Antiquity, the sea is today a support for globalization. It represents 90 % of total world trade flows as well as 98 % of communications. Finally, seas and oceans are laboratories for science and climate and ecosystem change. Their preservation and better knowledge are all issues of balance for our societies.

Understanding Asia and the maritime areas together, in their extent and complexity, allows us to have a global reflection on the world.

 

Goals

Capit Muscas Editions wishes to contribute to informing the public, to their better understanding of the world and more particularly that of Asia and the maritime areas. Our publishing house wishes to encourage free thinking and open to the world.

For this, it offers maps on current events, or explaining past significant events. It also offers essays and analytical books on the world, Asia and the sea.

Story

Capit Muscas Editions was founded in 2019 by Pierre Brousse. Its name reflects its mission. "Capit Muscas" is taken from the Latin proverb " aquila non capit muscas', which means "the eagle does not chase flies". This proverb reflects the disinterest in trivialities and the need to be interested in current issues that matter. These characteristics constitute the vocation of the publishing house as well as its specificity. 

 

Team

Pierre Brousse - founder and president of Capit Muscas Editions.

After a career in the French Navy, territorial administration and central administration, Pierre Brousse joined the Ciments Français group in 1986. Member of the Management Committee, he directs the group's activities in Southern Europe and Latin America. In 1991, he founded La Compagnie Financière dell'Aquila which, after investing in Europe, took part in the acquisition of the Bonna Sabla group and in the creation of the Consolis group, which he co-manages. He has co-chaired the supervisory board since 2017. He is also chairman of the supervisory board of Rocamat. Pierre Brousse was president of the Alliances Françaises d'Espagne from 1992 to 2001, as well as president of French and European professional federations of manufactured concrete (BIBM). He is the President of the Brousse dell'Aquila Endowment Fund.

Emmanuel Veron - Managing Director of Capit Muscas Editions.

Teacher-researcher specializing in contemporary China and international relations, he teaches in various universities and schools (Paris 1, Inalco, Naval School, ICP, EDG etc.). He advises companies and institutions on subjects related to China and Asia. He is the general delegate of the FDBDA, an endowment fund focused on disseminating a better knowledge of Asia and promoting the maritime world to the general public as well as to decision-makers.

Claire Giry - editorial manager of Capit Muscas Editions.

Qui-sommes-nous

Présentation

Capit Muscas Editions est une maison d’édition spécialisée sur l’Asie et les espaces maritimes. Elle souhaite contribuer à une connaissance enrichie du monde par la diffusion de livres et de cartes.

Pourquoi l’Asie et les espaces maritimes ?

L’Asie

« Tout ce qui est à l’est de la mer Egée », Hérodote

Cette large définition d’Hérodote renvoie à l’immensité du continent asiatique et à sa diversité. L’Asie est un espace pluriel, marquée à la fois par un essor économique et démographique soutenu et des espaces moins dynamiques. Ce continent fragmenté concentre des enjeux de développement et fait face à des décisions politiques, sécuritaires, environnementales au cœur des préoccupations géostratégiques internationales. L’Asie est incontestablement devenu le nouveau centre de gravité du monde. Son étude constitue un sujet essentiel pour notre siècle.

Les espaces maritimes

« Les larmes de nos souverains ont le goût salé de la mer qu’ils ont ignorée », Cardinal de Richelieu. 

La mer couvre 71 % de la surface de la terre. Support privilégié de la circulation des biens, des hommes, des idées mais aussi de la projection des puissances depuis l’Antiquité, la mer est aujourd’hui un support de la mondialisation. Elle représente 90 % des flux totaux du commerce mondial ainsi que 98 % de ceux des communications. Enfin, mers et océans sont des laboratoires de la science et des changements climatiques et écosystémiques. Leur préservation et une meilleure connaissance sont autant d’enjeux d’équilibre pour nos sociétés.

Appréhender ensemble l’Asie et les espaces maritimes, dans leur étendue et leur complexité, permet d’avoir une réflexion globale sur le monde.

 

Les objectifs

Capit Muscas Editions souhaite contribuer à l’information du public, à sa meilleure compréhension du monde et plus particulièrement celle de l’Asie et des espaces maritimes. Notre maison d’édition désire encourager une pensée libre et ouverte sur le monde.

Pour cela, elle propose des cartes géographiques sur l’actualité, ou expliquant des évènements marquants passés. Elle propose également des essais et des ouvrages d’analyse sur le monde, l’Asie et la mer.

Histoire

Capit Muscas Editions a été fondée en 2019 par Pierre Brousse. Son nom reflète sa mission. « Capit Muscas » est tiré du proverbe latin « aquila non capit muscas », qui signifie « l’aigle ne chasse pas les mouches ». Ce proverbe traduit le désintérêt pour les futilités et la nécessité de s’intéresser aux sujets actuels qui importent. Ces caractéristiques constituent la vocation de la maison d’édition ainsi que sa spécificité. 

 

Equipe

Pierre Brousse – fondateur et président de Capit Muscas Editions.

Après une carrière dans la Marine nationale, l’administration territoriale et l’administration centrale, Pierre Brousse rejoint le groupe Ciments Français en 1986. Membre du Comité de direction, il dirige les activités du groupe en Europe du Sud et en Amérique Latine. En 1991, il fonde La Compagnie Financière dell’Aquila qui, après des investissements en Europe, participa à l’acquisition du groupe Bonna Sabla et à la création du groupe Consolis qu’il codirige. Il en copréside le conseil de surveillance depuis 2017. Il est par ailleurs président du conseil de surveillance de la société Rocamat. Pierre Brousse a été président des Alliances Françaises d’Espagne de 1992 à 2001, ainsi que président de fédérations professionnelles françaises et européennes de béton manufacturé (BIBM). Il est le président du Fonds de dotation Brousse dell’Aquila.

Emmanuel Véron – directeur général de Capit Muscas Editions.

Enseignant-chercheur spécialiste de la Chine contemporaine et de relations internationales, il enseigne dans diverses universités et Ecoles (Paris 1, Inalco, Ecole navale, ICP, EDG etc.). Il conseille entreprises et institutions sur des sujets liés à la Chine et l’Asie. Il est délégué général du FDBDA, fonds de dotation orienté sur la diffusion d’une meilleure connaissance de l’Asie et une valorisation du monde maritime auprès du grand public comme des décideurs.

Claire Giry – responsable éditoriale de Capit Muscas Editions.